External Access required by Sales Manager

Networking/Security Forums -> Firewalls // Intrusion Detection - External Security

Author: ShaolinTigerLocation: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 12:17 pm    Post subject: External Access required by Sales Manager
    ----
I've got a guy who's never in the office, the Sales manager, always in a Hotel, Clients house or at home..

He needs to get access to our internal Database system and I'm fairly new to remote access for users rather than administrators so I'm not sure the best way to go about it.

We are using an IPCop Linux firewall/gateway for Internet access and this supports VPN, but from what I understand it supports VPN as in the ability to link a secure VPN tunnel between 2 IPCop machines..

Should I use VPN (never set one up before) or just port forward VNC or Terminal Services inside over SSH, I'm really not sure how to go about doing this.

Bear in mind the solution must be usable for a fairly IT illiterate end user.

Author: Jason PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 12:37 pm    Post subject:
    ----
I would go for the second option, and use terminal services. You can customise his desktop, and restict his permissions, what he can access etc.

I would not use VNC, as it "shares" the desktop with anyone else at the computer, meaning if he is logged in and working, the PC will be out of use for other staff.

Go term services, but do it on a "member server" not a domain controller. Put your terminal services on a different port. If he is using a laptop, create a url shortcut on his desktop like 192.168.0.52:4567. what this means? - IP.Add.re.ss:Port.

On the security side, lock down the member server.

Not on the domain controller because:
1) Security
2) Performance

Out of interest, which database software are you using?

Obviously, this needs to be installed on the "member server". I am assuming your internal network is a W2k AD Domain.

In my experience, VPNs are nothing but a pain in the arse.