initializing external disk

Networking/Security Forums -> Macintosh

Author: duster PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 7:12 pm    Post subject: initializing external disk
    ----
is initializing a disk on a mac computer equivalent to formatting it? does it erase the data?

Author: graycatLocation: London, UK PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 5:52 pm    Post subject:
    ----
not 100% sure as I'm very new to mac myself but I think it is.

Yep, just dropped "initialize disc mac" into google and the first few returns talked about it being the same thing Smile

Author: Sherman HomanLocation: Norwell, MA PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:39 pm    Post subject:
    ----
Yes indeed! Reformatting and initializing will erase all of your data. There are technical differences between the terms, and there are different levels of security, but the result is your data will be gone.

Author: graycatLocation: London, UK PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:34 pm    Post subject:
    ----
good to know I wasn't far off, SH. Had a problem with an external ntfs disc last night that someone suggested initialising. bad idea it seems Smile lol

Author: Sherman HomanLocation: Norwell, MA PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:05 pm    Post subject:
    ----
graycat wrote:
good to know I wasn't far off, SH. Had a problem with an external ntfs disc last night that someone suggested initialising. bad idea it seems Smile lol

It may be too late, but at the simplest level of initializing only the directory information is gone. The name of the file, when it was created, modified, etc. But the actual data is still on your drive. It can be recovered fairly easily with Symantec, Data Rescue and dozens of others.
But, the hard drive space that has the data is considered 'fair game' by the operating system for over-writing with new data. Any hope of recovery fades quickly with time and activity!