• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

serial ata on laptop for apple?

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Macintosh

View previous topic :: View next topic  
wiz561
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 9:35 pm    Post subject: serial ata on laptop for apple? Reply with quote

Hi!

I'm new to apple's... I don't even have one yet, but thinking of getting one really soon. Only one problem. I want a laptop but my company wants to get a desktop. Reason why? More connections. Why do I want a laptop? Because I want mobility.

The whole thing is that I will have to be able to plug in a spare hd, mount it, and be able to browse the contents of it. I know some mac's use ide (I think), most use SCSI, and the newer ones use serial ata. With a apple laptop, do they have a port on the side for these? Are there usb or firewire devices that will let me plug an external drive in to use to the laptop?

Thanks for your help since I know nothing about mac's...are they even called mac's anymore?

Thanks!
catwoman
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2004 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are two USB and 1 firewire ports in a powerbook so you'll have no problem plugging and external hard drive in

Smile Yes, they're still called Macs
arcsine
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the spare HD has no enclosure... then you will need one to be able to use the HD via firewire or USB.

you could buy the enclosures you need almost anywhere...