• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

Log in

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

overclocked

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Hardware // Upgrades

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ComSec
Trusted SF Member
Trusted SF Member


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 16777215


Offline

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 7:24 pm    Post subject: overclocked Reply with quote

last day or so i have overclocked my processor from 1.0 ghz to 1.1 with no temp increase , what would you recommend i could get away with without any extra cooling device

btw, its a intel p3 level 6 rev 8.6 processor

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pantaloonie
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 28 Oct 2002
Posts: 0
Location: London, UK

Offline

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found it best to increase gradually, ie over a period of days, to make sure all is stable and the temp doesn't get too high. I'm currently running a 1.47 gig Athlon at 1800mhz with no extra cooling, and the cpu temp hovers around 45-50 degrees. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ComSec
Trusted SF Member
Trusted SF Member


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 16777215


Offline

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks Pantaloonie

i downloaded Hardware sensors monitor, and up to now been running at 1.2ghz set-up from my bios via manual settings,jumping up in stages.

my core voltage is stable at 1.7 with 10% variant , my cpu has infact gone from 28.0`C Down to 26.5`C idle, running a BM temp was 33.5`C...not bad might still squeeze a bit more

ran some benchmarks: results

whetstone FPU 1,680 MWIPS :a Pentium 4 = 1,059 at 1.6 GHz
DhryStone ALU 3,083 MDIPS :a pentium 4 = 3,083 at 1.6 GHz
Speed 1022 MHz

so far system stable , ran Quake arena 2 and Wolfstein....no problems fingers crossed

thanks for your advice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ShaolinTiger
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 16777215
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Offline

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Download some hardware test apps, the ones that run your CPU at 100%

Overclock slightly, then run the test app for 24 hours, if it's stable your laughing.

Watch the temp.

Mines 1Ghz running at 1.33Ghz, but it's a TB AXIA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ComSec
Trusted SF Member
Trusted SF Member


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 16777215


Offline

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks shaolin, will do

up to now no problems at all, but as you say pushing it to the limit will give me a true result......so be it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
myhatisred
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my athlon 1400+ is running at 1.4 ghz, I did it all in one shot, and my comp is on 24 hrs a day, w/ no extra cooling and the temp stays at 45* C roughly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
samuelkk
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 29 Apr 2002
Posts: 0
Location: Genting Highlands

Offline

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine is lausy machine. Its Pentium 3 933. i overclocked it to 1 gig. so far no prob. working 24 hours, temperature about 35.

But i have a question here, does overclocked would turn a machine to be unstable.... I have a buddies who tried once to overcloked his pc, the result was XP would not boot unless he set back his PC to the original speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Freaky
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 08 Jan 2003
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure, if you OC to much the RAM starts making mistakes, a good advise: always test it with memtest 86 after changing ure FSB! even one error is to much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShaolinTiger
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 16777215
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Offline

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on your RAM really, if you use cheap crap Wink

If you have decent CAS2 RAM you can o/c it quite a bit..

I've honestly never found the RAM to be a problem, but I have had immense problems with older PCI cards/gfx cards they can't handle the higher PCI bus speed.

I have a SCSI PCI card that will not go above 33mhz, even 35mhz it will lock the machine but the rest of my new cards will go up to 43mhz no problem (with 133mhz CAS2 RAM running at 143mhz).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Hardware // Upgrades All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Community Area

Log in | Register