• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

Book Review - Absolute Beginner's Guide to Wi-Fi Wireless

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> News // Columns // Articles

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tom Bair
SF Boss
SF Boss

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 7:13 am    Post subject: Book Review - Absolute Beginner's Guide to Wi-Fi Wireless Reply with quote

Absolute Beginner's Guide to Wi-Fi Wireless Networking
Author(s): Harold Davis
Publisher: QUE www.quepublishing.com
Date Published: April 2004
Book Specifications: Softcover,298 pages
Category: Wireless Networking
Publisher's Suggested User Level:Beginner
Reviewer's Recommended User Level:Beginner
Suggested Publisher Price: $18.95 US / $26.95 CDN / L13.99 Net UK
ISBN: 0-7897-3115-0

Blurb from back cover:

Absolute Beginner's Guide to Wi-Fi Wireless Networking teaches you how to quickly get up to speed so you can surf at local hotspots, or while on the road. This book gives you the practical information you need to buy the right equipment, get your equipment working perfectly, and get the best deal with Wi-Fi providers. You will also learn how to set up a Wi-Fi network, avoid pitfalls, and save time and money so that you can easily set up a wireless network in your home or office. Rid yourself forever of that nasty mess of tangled wires running everywhere using Wi-Fi!

Introduction

Having run a peer-to-peer network at home using a 5-port hub and lots of CAT5 wire, I've been itching to switch over to a wireless network now that they have become affordable for the home user. Yet there just wasn't enough time to research and analyze what would be needed to switch over to wireless.