• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

RSA SecureID vs CryptoCard

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Physical Security and Social Engineering

View previous topic :: View next topic  
thomasjreige
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 12:05 pm    Post subject: RSA SecureID vs CryptoCard Reply with quote

Hi There,
I am currently at a point where i need to make a 2-factor authentication recommendation for a client of mine.

I have extensive experience with RSA SecureID but am wondering about the CryptoCard solution.

Has anyone had any experience with this software. Reason why we are up in arms is due to the price of RSA.

Thanks.

Tom.

Moderator note: Moved from Comments/Problems - capi
rji
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

we don't use rsa anymore, we use securenvoy which is considerably cheaper and better.

Hadn't heard of cryptocard until your post, I will watch post to observe comments.
njan
Trusted SF Member
Trusted SF Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rji wrote:

we don't use rsa anymore, we use securenvoy which is considerably cheaper and better.

Securenvoy is software-only, isn't it? It's always seemed a bit perverse to me to solve a problem which is caused by insecure software by implementing a hardware solution which is actually software.

To me, software running on a cellphone or pda (given that the architecture of a phone isn't designed for this and doesn't have the functionality embedded in hardware - such as an HSM or TPM - which actually secures this to the next level) is just as potentially insecure as any other software authentication system.