• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

Log in

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

Limiting IE to one website - how?

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Windows

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lkelly
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:26 pm    Post subject: Limiting IE to one website - how? Reply with quote

I'm trying to help a client set up a kiosk workstation that should only permit the user to visit a single domain name. Is there an easy way of setting up Windows to block visits to any other site? I really only have the ability to change settings on this particular PC, not anything else on their network (router, firewall, etc.).

Running XP pro SP2 and IE 6.0.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Groovicus
Trusted SF Member
Trusted SF Member


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Centerville, South Dakota

Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm thinking there is probably more to this question than what you are saying, or I just don't understand the intent. Why set up a workstation to only browse one web site? Would it be a fair assumption that the domain is being used as a gateway to the rest of the world?

And if they are allowing you to make a change on the workstation, why not on the router...

Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SteelValor
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Posts: 0
Location: Central New York

Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could do this through a router (Linksys I think), but if it's a static site just download it for offline browsing and then pull the internet connection. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
lkelly
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The client does not have a router, from what I gather.

The site is dynamic, so downloading the content locally is not an option.

This is a kiosk workstation that hits a section of the client's website. They don't want users (or the security guard) surfing the web for other content. What I'm hoping is that there is a way to prevent this via settings on that machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AdamV
SF Mod
SF Mod


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 24
Location: Leeds, UK

Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the machine is used for nothing else, then give it a static IP (if it does not already have one), subnet mask and gateway as normal (the router - just match the gateway of another PC) and NO DNS.

Add the IP address and name (eg www.somecompany.com) of the target site to the hosts file and hey presto, they can access that but nothing else since they can't resolve other names.

(PS: if they have no router, how are they accessing the outside world?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lkelly
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, I don't know a ton about their network, and really only have access to the one machine right now. I believe they might just have the machine set up with cable modem access or DSL. Either of those is going to give it a dynamic IP address over time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lkelly
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone know if the "Content Advisor" tool on IE will accomplish this? Can you specify: allow access to www.xyz.com and no access to everything else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
capi
SF Senior Mod
SF Senior Mod


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 16777097
Location: Portugal

Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or if they memorize the IP address of a proxy, which they can then use to browse anywhere...

Why not just block traffic at the gateway? Would seem to be the most direct and thorough solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AdamV
SF Mod
SF Mod


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 24
Location: Leeds, UK

Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's true. If it is directly connected on it's own line then ignore the bits about IP and just get rid of the DNS if you can. If not, then let it get the IP automatically but put in a manual DNS address of 127.0.0.1 - a manual DNS entry will take precedence over anything that it tries to get via DHCP. This ought to work (read: cripple it so it does what you tell it Gimp Boy Needs Some Love)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lkelly
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This solution seemed to work for me.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q267930
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AdamV
SF Mod
SF Mod


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 24
Location: Leeds, UK

Offline

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and here were we getting all complicated!
Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Windows All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Community Area

Log in | Register