• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

Log in

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

compiler

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Programming and More

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jennefer
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 12 Dec 2005
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 7:35 am    Post subject: compiler Reply with quote

how do i compile my Java applications in DOS mode or in the command prompt... everytime I do so, it says the ff verbatim:

Microsoft(R) Windows DOS
(C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-2001.

C:\>set path:=j2sdk1.4.2_05\bin\"nmake"

C:\>javac java_cup/*.java java_cup/runtime/*.java
'JAVAC' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\>set path:=Program Files\Java\jdk1.5.0_04\bin

C:\>javac java_cup/*.java java_cup/runtime/*.java
'JAVAC' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

Please help...thanks... I have to compile CUP in there...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sh4d0w
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you installed javac? If not you probably need to actually install the compiler first. Your using Windows so I doubt that you have the compiler installed unless you downloaded it from Sun.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mu
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 13 Dec 2004
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

C:\>set path:=Program Files\Java\jdk1.5.0_04\bin


I'm not a windows user but, I would have thought that you'd have to specify the absolute path to your jdk bin directory, i.e. C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.5.0_04\bin\

Just a thought..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cass
Lurker
Lurker


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Scotland

Offline

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
have you installed javac? If not you probably need to actually install the compiler first.


Heh brilliant Smile dummy mode on !!!

id be guessing that mu's comments are nearer the mark, but they are far from the quality answer you offer .. Smile ...

Cheers Sh4dow top man! now i have a big grin on my face Smile

Cass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jennefer
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 12 Dec 2005
Posts: 0


Offline

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i already solved the problem with the "javac" command... thanks for all your help, guys... i have another problem, it says that it cannot read the file that I want to be compiled... what could probably be the problem?... you'd probably think i'm stupid... i guess, i am... just please help me.... by the way. i'm using it for CUP... DOES ANYONE OF YOU HAVE A KNOW-HOW ON RUNNING CUP IN WINDOWS?
PLEASE reply....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Groovicus
Trusted SF Member
Trusted SF Member


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Centerville, South Dakota

Offline

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The CUP support page is here:
http://www2.cs.tum.edu/projects/cup/

You are trying to use a pretty specialized Java application that most people are not going to know how to run (granted, there is a new release for this year, but it languished for several years until someone picked it up again). From what I have seen in this thread, and in your thread at BC, this is not a general "how do I make my Java App work" type of question.

ANd ummm.. isn't CUP a library? The only reason I ask is because some of the sample code I have looked at has the following:
Code:

import java_cup.runtime.*;

That is an import statement for a library.. you can't compile it. That means you actually have to write some sort of code. The users manual gives some sample code.

http://www.hio.hen.nl/~vanleeuw/pse/spanje/tutorial.html

What is it exactly that you are trying to compile? Are you trying to compile the library?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Programming and More All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Community Area

Log in | Register