• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

What security risks are associated with ISDN?

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> General Security Discussion

View previous topic :: View next topic  
funkyd
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 10:45 am    Post subject: What security risks are associated with ISDN? Reply with quote

I have found 4 ISDN modems on users desks that are used to upload updates to our remote web hosting company.

What sort of risks are associated with ISDN - I've never used it before. Because its point-to-point I am wondering what could happen.

I am thinking that we should ditch them and use a VPN from our firewall instead because it can be managed and reduces the number of perimeter 'entrances' to our network.....
Jason
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ISDN in its own right is not insecure.

If you hookup a PC through ISDN you should have a firewall installed on the PC, otherwise you have created a backdoor onto your main network.

Ideally, you should have few paths out to the internet, and have these secured with a border router/firewall.

Jason
ShaolinTiger
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeh ISDN is no more secure or insecure than a 56k modem.

It's the same thing effectively from a security point of view, and yeh preferably only have 1 point of entry for the Internet. It's a dirty dangerous place..

The less permiter entries you have, the less work there is and less security risk.
Networkguy
Trusted SF Member
Trusted SF Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote