• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

Log in

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

mouse in linux

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> UNIX // GNU/Linux

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
delete852
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC

Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:06 am    Post subject: mouse in linux Reply with quote

I can't get my mouse to work in KDE. I installed it and I think i specified the wrong interface of where to find it, How do I fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Jason
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 16777215


Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

from the command line, run: XF86config (or XF86Config (note capital 'c')).

Failing that, edit your XF86config file, which believe is stored in /etc/X11/

Try using //[b][/b]dev[b][/b]/mouse as that should work in most cases.

Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
delete852
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC

Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do I specify for it to take input from //[b][/b]dev[b][/b]/mouse ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Jason
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 16777215


Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am pretty sure it is in the XF86config file... Wait...

My XF86Config file:

Quote:
# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
# The available mouse protocols types that you can set below are:
# Auto BusMouse GlidePoint GlidePointPS/2 IntelliMouse IMPS/2
# Logitech Microsoft MMHitTab MMSeries Mouseman MouseManPlusPS/2
# MouseSystems NetMousePS/2 NetScrollPS/2 OSMouse PS/2 SysMouse
# ThinkingMouse ThinkingMousePS/2 Xqueue
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "//[b][/b]dev[b][/b]/mouse"
# Option "Device" "//[b][/b]dev[b][/b]/psaux"
# Option "Device" "//[b][/b]dev[b][/b]/ttyS0"
# Option "Device" "//[b][/b]dev[b][/b]/ttyS1"


Un-comment (remove the # at the start of the line) those devices that you may have a mouse connected to, and re-comment those you will not have a mouse connected to.


Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
delete852
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC

Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:49 am    Post subject: Ok I Reply with quote

Ok I am typing this throught links so I don't know how it will come out, but anyway, I tried it, then restarted still didn't work, I tryed editing the dile, and chaning the mouse input from //[b][/b]dev[b][/b]/psaux to //[b][/b]dev[b][/b]/mouse, turned out that mouse didn't exist so i changed it back. How to get it to work? Any additional help would also be welcome. Maybe if i get it to work in counsole it will work in X? right?...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
delete852
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC

Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow thanks a lot, I got it fixed, it was what jason told me, I ran xf86config, and i selected my mouse and now works fine. Thanks dude I appreciate the help. Let me restart and see it it works. BTW do you guys know any tutorials on how to make KDE look cool?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
delete852
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC

Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

God, I have no idea whats going on, what is the command to completely reconfigure X. From start, like when you install it and it prompts you a few things. Geez the mouse would work fine, and then it would stop, then i restart and it works again, and then i restart and it doesn't. Any ideas? Anything! Any help is welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Jason
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 16777215


Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

delete852 wrote:
God, I have no idea whats going on, what is the command to completely reconfigure X. From start, like when you install it and it prompts you a few things. Geez the mouse would work fine, and then it would stop, then i restart and it works again, and then i restart and it doesn't. Any ideas? Anything! Any help is welcome.



XF86Config is the command to re-configure X.

Have you considered that you might have a dodgy mouse?

Does it work OK under Gnome? or is it only a KDE problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
delete852
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC

Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok here is the status, I am typing this second time cuz i just typed it and it got erased. Stupid Me. My mosue works 100%, because it works in windows and i tried 3 other mice in linux. So it isn't it. then I install X it automatically boots into it. How do i disable that in /etc/inittab? I tried looking around but nothing,

i have been having so much problems with this lately, if it isn't one thing its another. So i keep having to reinstall to get my settings back to default so i can start over. It is pretty annoying but if i get it to work this would be a good learning experience.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
delete852
Just Arrived
Just Arrived


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC

Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you know how i can make it run that command at start up?
And how to make my mouse speed higher?
And how to get my speackers to work?
And how to make the desktop preview things as a floating panel?
And how to make my mouse middle wheel to work?
Lol, i am just abusing the power of asking questions. i ll find the answers now that i go my mouse to more or less work. Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Jason
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 16777215


Offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

delete852 wrote:
Do you know how i can make it run that command at start up?
And how to make my mouse speed higher?
And how to get my speackers to work?
And how to make the desktop preview things as a floating panel?
And how to make my mouse middle wheel to work?
Lol, i am just abusing the power of asking questions. i ll find the answers now that i go my mouse to more or less work. Thanks again




1. Please STOP dual posting, you have done it about 5 times in this thread alone. Just edit your previous post if you need to add something to it.

2. Copy and paste ALL of your /etc/inittab into a new post or PM me with it, and i will modify it for you to boot into command line first. You will need to say what Linux distrobution you are using also.

These are mostly all totally diferent topics, there is too much to answer here, as most of your questions require more information for anyone to answer. The mouse wheel thing you may have to live without. Try running XF86Config and choosing a different mouse type.

Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> UNIX // GNU/Linux All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Community Area

Log in | Register