• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

Yum Install

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> UNIX // GNU/Linux

View previous topic :: View next topic  
duster
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 5:55 pm    Post subject: Yum Install Reply with quote

Im a newbie to linux. Ive recently installed centos server. after which i did a yum install firefox . what is really happening is it taking files from a local repository to install the app or is it going to the web?
graycat
SF Mod
SF Mod

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:39 am    Post subject: Re: Yum Install Reply with quote

duster wrote:
Im a newbie to linux. Ive recently installed centos server. after which i did a yum install firefox . what is really happening is it taking files from a local repository to install the app or is it going to the web?

Ah-ha! A fellow Linux newbie! Smile

As far as I understand it, there are online repositories for all manner of packages within the *nix communities and these are where yum pulls from.

Does that make sense? Almost like an admin install point in windows I think.

one trick on the yum front - if you don't know the package name (say mysql for instance), you can use wildcards in command. So something like "yum mys*" will go and look for every package to do with mysql and list them off. You can then pick and choose the ones you want.
I found that out by being lazy and not wanting to type full package names but seemed to work pretty well Smile
RoboGeek
SF Mod
SF Mod

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can actually do it either way. Yum with no local path will look at repositories, but you can also use yum with a local path for files you already downloaded
capi