• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

Folder sharing across networks

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Networking

View previous topic :: View next topic  
user4937
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 8:30 pm    Post subject: Folder sharing across networks Reply with quote

Hello all,

I'm relatively new in the networking field. I'm in school for IT, focused on security and forensic investigations.

However, I have a school project that has stumped me. I admit I'm at my wit's end. The project's due date has already passed and I failed. I am just trying to get this done, so that I can sleep at night.

Here's a simple diagram:

The projects asks for a hybrid bus-wired star topology, involving 2 off-the-shelf routers to be daisy-chained (bus) and have whatever number of workstations at each router (both wired and wireless), forming the star(s), all in IPv4.

So, I went with 2 Netgears WPN824v3 (4 private ports wireless routers). For the sake of me not getting lost in this, let's standardize it:
- N1 for the 1st router
- N2 for the 2nd.

N1 is connected to a cable modem. N2's public port is connected to one of the private ports on the N1. So, N1 has 2 workstations + a networked printer + N2, and 5 wireless clients. N2 has 4 workstations wired + 6 wireless clients. Essentially these 2 routers are 2 individual networks. ALL clients on both networks are configured for RDP, and have internet access. While all clients (including wireless) on N2 are able to RDP into any system on N1, ALL clients on N1 must use N2's public IP to RDP into any N2 clients, via port forwarding. ALL clients (N1 & N2) are able to print to the networked printer on N1.